Advertisement. This comparison is published by MamaSmiles, who make one of the six products listed below.

Six UK teething gels,
compared side by side

We make one of these products. So instead of scoring them, we have put the facts from every pack next to each other and left the judgement to you.

See the comparison

How to read this page

What we compare, and what we do not

What is on this page

  • Key ingredients as listed by the manufacturer
  • Who formulated the product, where stated
  • Whether it contains a local anaesthetic
  • Price, pack size and approximate price per use
  • How the product is regulated in the UK
  • What UK and US regulators have published on the category

What is not on this page

  • Star ratings or scores for any product
  • Rankings, winners or a best overall pick
  • Any claim about how a product performs on a baby

We sell one of these products. A score from us would tell you something about us, not about the product.

The facts, side by side

Comparison table

Scroll sideways to compare all six products attribute by attribute. Open a product below the table for its full ingredient list.

AttributeMamaSmiles Teething GelOur productAshton & Parsons Teething GelNelsons Teetha Teething GelWeleda Baby Chamomile Teething GranulesBonjela Infant Soothing Sugar Free Teething GelAnbesol Teething Gel
FormatGelGelGelGranulesGelGel
Pack size20ml10ml15g15g15ml10g
Minimum age3 months3 months3 months3 months6 months5 months
Regulated asCosmeticMedical deviceHomeopathic medicinal productHomeopathic medicinal product (NR 00298/0295)Check packPharmacy medicine (eMC 1306)
Local anaesthetic1NoNoNoNoNoYes — lidocaine hydrochloride 1.0% w/w
Sweetened withXylitol and steviosideXylitolXylitol (E967)SucroseXylitolSodium saccharin
Contains ethanol (alcohol)NoNoYes — 21mg per doseNoNoYes
Contains added colourNoNoNoNoNoYes — Ponceau 4R (E124)
FlavourBerryBananaNot statedNot statedNot statedClove oil present
Max applications per day63–46See pack3–54
Approximate uses per pack~80~40~5064 scoops~60~35
Formulated byTwo UK-trained dentistsNot stated by manufacturerNot stated by manufacturerNot stated by manufacturerNot stated by manufacturerNot stated by manufacturer
Made inUnited KingdomUnited KingdomUnited KingdomGermanyNot statedBelgium (Conforma N.V.)
Price£9.99£5.99£5.99£6.99£4.20£3.99
Price per use£0.12£0.15£0.12£0.11£0.07£0.11

Full ingredient lists

Key ingredients

HydroxyapatiteXylitolAloe veraChamomileCurcumin

Glycerin, Aqua, Xylitol, Hydroxyapatite, Sodium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Crosspolymer, Potassium Citrate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Aroma, Propanediol, Cellulose Gum, Stevioside, Xanthan Gum, Tetrasodium Glutamate Diacetate, Sodium Lauroyl Glutamate, Sorbitan Caprylate, Curcuma Longa Root Oil, Citric Acid, Linalool, Geraniol

Formulated by two UK-trained dentists. Contains hydroxyapatite, a calcium phosphate mineral, alongside xylitol, aloe vera and chamomile. Berry flavoured.

Regulated as
CosmeticAssessed under the UK Cosmetic Regulation. A qualified safety assessor must sign off the formulation before sale. Cosmetics may not make medicinal claims.

Key ingredients

PVP film formerAloe veraXylitolCetylpyridinium chlorideLiquorice extract

Aqua, Polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP), Maltodextrin, Propylene Glycol, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Aloe Barbadensis, Xanthan Gum, Banana Flavour, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Hyaluronate, Xylitol, Cetylpyridinium Chloride, Glycyrrhetinic Acid, Crocus Sativus

A long established UK brand, sold widely in pharmacies and supermarkets. Regulated as a medical device rather than a medicine.

Regulated as
Medical deviceRegulated as a medical device rather than a medicine. Devices work by physical means. The manufacturer describes this product as forming a film on the gums.
Where to buy
View at Boots

Key ingredients

Chamomilla 12cXylitolEthanol (alcohol)

Active: Chamomilla 12c per 1g. Also contains: Water, Ethanol, Xylitol (E967), Hypromellose, Glycerol (E422), Xanthan Gum

A registered homeopathic product. Also sold as granules in a separate format.

Regulated as
Homeopathic medicinal productRegistered with the MHRA under the rules for homeopathic products. The manufacturer describes it as used within the homeopathic tradition. Registration under these rules does not require the same evidence of effect as a licensed medicine.
Where to buy
View at Boots

Key ingredients

Chamomilla 3XSucrose (sugar)

Each level scoop (234mg): Chamomilla 3X (Matricaria recutita) root. Also contains sucrose. Vegan, gluten free.

A granule format rather than a gel, dosed by scoop onto the tongue. Certified organic ingredients.

Regulated as
Homeopathic medicinal product (NR 00298/0295)Registered with the MHRA under the rules for homeopathic products. The manufacturer describes it as used within the homeopathic tradition. Registration under these rules does not require the same evidence of effect as a licensed medicine.
Note
Weleda states on the pack that this product contains sucrose, that sucrose may be harmful to teeth, and that it is not recommended for use for more than two weeks. weleda.co.uk

Key ingredients

XylitolChamomileAloe veraRose petal extractHyaluronic acid

Xylitol, Aqua, Glycerine, Rosa Damascena Petal Extract, Xanthan Gum, Hyaluronic Acid, Potassium Sorbate, Pectin, Sodium Benzoate, Citric Acid, Malva Sylvestris Extract, Chamomilla Recutita Flower Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract

Sold in more than one formulation. The infant version differs from the adult mouth gel, so check the pack you are buying.

Regulated as
Check pack
Where to buy
View at Boots

Key ingredients

Lidocaine (local anaesthetic)ChlorocresolCetylpyridinium chlorideClove oilPonceau 4R colour (E124)

Actives: Lidocaine hydrochloride 1.0% w/w, Chlorocresol 0.1% w/w, Cetylpyridinium chloride 0.02% w/w. Also contains: alcohol, clove oil, glycerol, hydroxypropyl cellulose, sodium saccharin, Ponceau 4R (E124), purified water

Contains lidocaine, a local anaesthetic. The MHRA named this product in its 2018 review of oral lidocaine teething medicines. Since 2019 these products have been pharmacy medicines in the UK and are positioned as second line, to be used only after non-medicinal options have been tried. Ask a pharmacist.

Regulated as
Pharmacy medicine (eMC 1306)A licensed medicine, sold only under the supervision of a pharmacist. Contains a licensed active ingredient with an approved indication.
Where to buy
View at Well

Product information is taken from manufacturer websites, patient information leaflets and physical packs, checked September 2026. Where a retailer listing conflicted with the manufacturer, we used the manufacturer. Several products in this category have been reformulated and older ingredient lists are still circulating on retailer sites, so always check the pack you are buying.

Key ingredients are those with a functional role beyond base, solvent, thickener, preservative, emulsifier or pH control, plus any ingredient the manufacturer names as active. The same rule is applied to every product and names are given in plain English. Tap any product for the full ingredient list as printed by the manufacturer.

Pack sizes are stated in millilitres for gels and grams for granules, as printed on each pack. These are not directly comparable, and granule products are dosed by scoop rather than by volume, so price per unit is shown only where the comparison is meaningful.

Note 1, anaesthetic teething gels

What the regulators have published

Some teething gels contain a local anaesthetic. Both the UK and US medicines regulators have reviewed this category and published findings. We have summarised each below and linked to the source so you can read it yourself.

United Kingdom

MHRA moved lidocaine teething gels behind the pharmacy counter

December 2018, effective 2019

Following advice from the Commission on Human Medicines, all oral lidocaine products licensed for infant teething were reclassified from general sale to pharmacy medicines. The review found a lack of evidence of benefit from using these products ahead of non-medicinal options, and repositioned them as a second line choice, for use only when simple measures have not worked. Pack sizes were limited to 10g and the warnings on pack were updated.

The MHRA also stated that its evidence of any risk associated with these products is very small given how widely they are used.

MHRA Drug Safety Update, December 2018

United States

FDA asked companies to stop selling benzocaine teething products

May 2018

The FDA wrote to manufacturers asking them to stop marketing over-the-counter benzocaine oral products for teething in infants and children under two, and to add a contraindication for that use. The action followed reports of methemoglobinemia, a blood disorder that reduces the oxygen carried in the blood and can be fatal. The FDA said the products carry serious risks and offer little to no benefit for oral pain.

Benzocaine and lidocaine are different anaesthetics. UK teething gels generally contain lidocaine rather than benzocaine, so the FDA action does not apply directly to products on UK shelves. We have included it because it is what prompted the MHRA review.

FDA letter to manufacturers, May 2018

Before you buy

Three things worth checking on any teething gel

01

Does it contain an anaesthetic

Lidocaine and benzocaine are local anaesthetics. In the UK, teething products containing lidocaine are pharmacy medicines and a pharmacist should be involved in the decision. Check the ingredients panel on the pack.

02

What sweetens it

A teething product goes onto the gums several times a day, often for months. Check whether it is sweetened with sugar or with a non-fermentable sweetener such as xylitol, and whether the pack states sugar free.

03

What are you paying per use

Pack sizes in this category range from 10ml to 20ml and some products are sold by weight or dosed by scoop, so the cheapest tube is not always the cheapest product. Work out roughly how many applications a pack gives you and divide the price by that.

If you are unsure, ask. Your health visitor, pharmacist or GP can advise on what is appropriate for your baby. Speak to them before using any product containing an anaesthetic, and if your baby has a fever or any symptom that concerns you.

Questions

Frequently asked

In December 2018 the MHRA announced that oral lidocaine products for infant teething would move from general sale to pharmacy only from 2019. The change followed a review by the Commission on Human Medicines which found a lack of evidence of benefit from using these products ahead of non-medicinal options. Pack sizes were limited and the warnings on pack were updated. The MHRA also stated that its evidence of any risk from these products is very small given how widely they are used. If you are considering one, a pharmacist can advise.

Check three things on the pack. First, whether it contains a local anaesthetic such as lidocaine or benzocaine, because anaesthetic teething products are pharmacy medicines in the UK and a pharmacist should advise on them. Second, what sweetens it, since sugar has no place in a product applied to a baby's gums several times a day. Third, the full ingredient list, particularly if your baby has known sensitivities. Price per use is often more useful than the headline price, since pack sizes vary widely and some products are dosed by scoop rather than squeezed from a tube.

Two reasons. The pack is larger than most, so the price per use is closer to the category than the shelf price suggests. It also contains hydroxyapatite and xylitol, ingredients used in oral care products rather than in standard teething gels, which cost more to formulate with.

Hydroxyapatite is a calcium phosphate mineral that makes up the majority of tooth enamel by weight. Synthetic hydroxyapatite is used in oral care products as a fluoride free ingredient.

No. This page is published by MamaSmiles, who make one of the six products listed. We have set it out so you can check every figure yourself against the manufacturer packs and the retailer links provided. We do not rate or score the other products, because we are not a neutral party and any score we gave would not be worth anything to you.

Speak to your health visitor, pharmacist or GP if you are unsure whether a product is suitable for your baby, if your baby has a fever or symptoms that concern you, or before using any product containing an anaesthetic.